ISO 55000


The ISO 55000 series provides terminology, requirements and guidance for implementing, maintaining and improving an effective asset management system.

The three international standards (ISO 55000, 55001 and 55002) are important because they represent a global consensus on asset management and what it can do to increase value generated by all organisations. 

We believe that asset management will increasingly become the best means of harnessing and integrating all the activities within an organisation to achieve its purpose most effectively and economically.

Using ISO 55000

ISO 55000 consists of three standards:

  • ISO 55000 Asset Management - Overview, principles and terminology
    Introduces the critical concepts and terminology needed to develop a long-term plan that incorporates an organisation’s mission, values, objectives, business policies and stakeholder requirements.
  • ISO 55001 Asset Management - Requirements
    Specifies the requirements for the establishment, implementation, maintenance and improvement of an asset management system.
  • ISO 55002 Asset Management - Guidelines on the application of ISO 55001
    Provides guidance for the application of an asset management system, in accordance with the requirements of ISO 55001.

These standards can help organisations of all sizes and sectors to:

  • Establish an asset management system to optimally manage assets
  • Implement, maintain and improve an asset management system
  • Comply with asset management policy and strategy
  • Demonstrate that they are applying best practice
  • Seek external certification of their asset management system or make a self-declaration of compliance

ISO/TC 251

ISO Technical Committee 251 (ISO/TC 251), responsible for the development of the ISO 55000 standards, align and develop new resources to improve the understanding of asset management. The Technical Committee web page is maintained with the latest updates and publications, including guidance articles that expand on certain aspects of ISO 55000:


Certification to ISO 55001: Myth Busters

These asset management myth busters provide clarity on common misconceptions about achieving certification to ISO 55001.

Who can provide certification, which organisations can achieve certification, and what can comprise the scope of an Asset Management System?

Certification to ISO 55001: Myth Busters >




From BSI PAS 55 to ISO 55000

Since its first publication in 2004, British Standards Institution PAS 55:2008 has been an international success and became the default global standard for asset management. It has been increasingly recognised as a generically applicable definition of good practices in the optimised management of physical assets.

Using PAS 55:2008 as the ‘base document’, the IAM worked with the British Standards Institution to initiate the project to produce a formal International Standard through the International Organisation for Standardization (ISO), and we were delighted by the enthusiastic and wide participation in this work. Our aim was to increase the degree of international and cross-sector participation to develop asset management good practice and application in many parts of the world. Through the significant ISO membership, the IAM encouraged the inclusion of further relevant documents as well as PAS 55 to improve the industry.

A free BSI transition guide is available to download from the BSI website, explaining the background and some of the changes moving from PAS 55 to ISO 55000.

Access BSI transition guide


Buy ISO 55000

The IAM sells ISO 55000 to Members at the lowest possible price, courtesy of BSI. The package of all three standards, ISO 55000, 55001 and 55002, in paper format is available to buy from the IAM shop.   

Buy print copy

BSI sell the PDF version of the package, and this is only available to paying Members of the IAM as an exclusive member benefit. This version is not available to non-members. The package of all 3 standards, ISO 55000, 55001 and 55002 can be purchased in PDF format from the BSI website (you must be logged to your IAM account to access this).

Buy PDF from BSI

Each standard can also be purchased individually at the BSI shop.



See also...

Developing and maintaining a Stategic Asset Management Plan (SAMP)

This guide provides practical advice for the development of a strategic plan for asset management.

Read more

Self Assessment Methodology+(SAM+)

The IAM’s SAM+ tool enables organisations in all sectors to measure their capabilities against the requirements of both PAS 55 and ISO 55001.

Read more

ISO 55001 Auditor Assessor Specification

Produced by GFMAM, this document sets out the minimum competency for assessors to audit or assess to ISO 55001. 

Find out more

IAM Endorsed Assessors

Endorsed Assessors carry out gap analysis to assess the extent of organisation's conformance to the requirements outlined in ISO 55001 or BSI PAS 55.

Find out more